Nisha JamVwal in an exclusive conversation with ifoodee.com on design, food and lifestyle.

HotelsCombined.com

Nisha Jamwval for ifoodeeAn inveterate traveler , Nisha loves the seaside and mountains, and enjoys travel in India and all over the world. I am sometimes known as a page three phenomenon, that is not however my identity!
– “I work hard and Play hard and it’s the way I enjoy my life, the tag is a by-product of my fast-track lifestyle and a short appearance in the movie ‘Page Three’.”
She has kept pace with the times and kept her work trendy & smart, multi-tasked to always give a shot in the arm to all the things she does,  and broken the walls between all creative worlds in design, fashion, interior architecture, writing, art, and not really needed to  piggy back to success upon brands and other successful people.
“I fly solo and depend upon myself to make it or break it. ” Nisha sit’s on the board of institutions,  judge at Design institutes,  write columns, it is due to her work, education & a  career in design and art/   determination, drive  and entrepreneurship –  the ability she has had to dream and work toward dreams, most importantly to admire and celebrate the achievements and successes of other successful people. It’s a personal preference that she is not too fond of the appendage ‘socialite’; it undermines what she stands for, and her work and creative journey. Nisha enjoys flamboyance, panache, and unwinding but that is not her raison D’être!
Through lives every rapid or pitfall she was only more enthused toward living the journey to its fullest. “I don’t lack a touch of narcissism, the love for fame and fortune, but have not used anyone else for short cuts toward achievement. “
“I drew and colored before I could write…… for me design , shapes, forms , have been attractive since I was three or maybe before even, I almost cannot see a space or fabric or canvas without my mind and vision clicking with ideas to enhance it to its aesthetic function in accordance with my vision. Sometimes there is an upsurge of ideas; I find it difficult to keep pace with my mind……………
Career and work have been a priority. Yet I work with a desire to bring issues to the forefront- with the peg of glamour, to help in whatever way I can to bring about some meaningful change in our society. ” avers Nisha

“Every experiment in life has been a step in my journey of growth and self-discovery, a kaleidoscopic part of life that enriches the fabric of my work & existence. Without these, life would be a meaningless transition from the womb to the tomb and this often entails some mistakes, some triumphs, but that’s the enriching of the fabric of life and so far I don’t regret that much!-– “

She has kept pace with the times and kept her work trendy & smart, multi-tasked to always give a shot in the arm to all the things she does,  and broken the walls between all creative worlds in design, fashion, interior architecture, writing, art, and not really needed to  piggy back to success upon brands and other successful people but has carved a niche by her own creative journey and flamboyance!

Nisha Jamwval for ifoodee.comLadies and Gentlemen, ifoodee gives you Nisha JamVwal and why she is so much in love with pure creativity and super delicious food.

As an aesthete, a lover of the arts and a professional Interior Architect Nisha has chosen to work with all media of design and art, created and spearheaded the brand ‘Nisha JamVwal‘ in Fashion as well as in Interior Design.

The NISHA JAMVWAL label has generated intense interest, created new trends and formed a following in a short span of time, the brand has also, ever since its inception, lent an altruistic feel and a philanthropic fervor to fashion and lifestyle.

Nisha has lived and studied in Japan, California, France, Australia.

A prolific writer , Nisha has written books on Art, Craft & Sculpture. Her articles for newspapers and magazines are on the net too, if you google ‘Nisha JamVwal‘ & ‘Nisha Jamwal‘ (without a V which was added later) you could view them.

Nisha models selectively; comperes shows on stage & Television; and does a few vignettes occasionally in Bollywood for a lark.

An inveterate traveler, Nisha loves the seaside and mountains, and enjoys travel in India and all over the world. I am sometimes known as a page three phenomenon, that is not however my identity!

“I work hard and Play hard and it’s the way I enjoy my life, the tag is a by-product of my fast-track lifestyle and a short appearance in the movie ‘Page Three’.”

1. Nisha, Handling a multi-talented profession, how difficult or easy is it?Nisha Jamwval for ifoodee.com

The creative experience is for me a river that overflows to sustain varied fields along the way. Sometimes there is an upsurge of ideas; I find it difficult to keep pace with my mind. I am a mixed bag!

I paint, I write, I design, I am involved with the world of contemporary art & architecture.

Fashion is a diversification not only of brand ‘Nisha JamVwal’ but my creative journey. I am flowing with the current that has taken expression in different media, interiors, writing, art, craft and couture. When I return after a hard long day of work and most definitely play, the world at last recedes into stillness by a tranquil sea view. There is little intrusion. I take up the brush with a go at my canvas on my easel. It all flows into each other. It is all Art!

I live & work in a creative erratica of words, images, objects!

I have studied & journeyed & learnt & adventured all over the world, I consider myself a world citizen, Bombay, Delhi, Madras, Paris, Tokyo, Sydney, Brisbane, California and I’ve loved it all – Traveling has been the greatest study in my genesis!

Life has been beautiful, annoying, tragic, ecstatic, all part of the learning curve.

Work has been very exciting and is very demanding too, but I cannot like it any other way!

I almost cannot see a space or fabric or canvas without my mind and vision clicking with ideas to enhance it to its paramount potential aesthetic function in accordance with my vision.

HotelsCombined.com

Nisha Jamwval for ifoodee.com2. Do Socialites eat food, if yes, what do they love to binge on and from where?

I am often known as a page three phenomenon, and it does not describe me aptly, I’d say I am an artist. I got the tag when I acquiesced to do a vignette in Madhur Bhandarkar’s ‘Page 3‘ where I appear as myself.

Since I don’t consider myself a socialite but an artist and an entrepreneur I will answer your question about the so called socialites. I do see most socialites on diets or mostly engaged in discussing diets and weight. The first thing they meet they say, ‘oh you’ve lost so much weight’, not ‘oh I loved the latest article you wrote’. And yes they don’t eat consistently. They live in two definite states,

1. On a diet,

2. On a binge of wine, party and song.

They love to binge on food at five star haunts where the ‘set’ go to, they do not enjoy experimentation or adventure.

As for me I eat what I most love but swim if I have overdone the fats or carbs, I need to be in shape as I wear mostly western clothes and like to look fetching and chic. I am intolerant of blubber on the belly et al.

HotelsCombined.com

Nisha Jamwval for ifoodee.com3. Which places would you best associate with the following cuisines in Mumbai?

a. North IndianMasala Kraft, Tiffin (kaali Daal Makhani) and Peshawri (Bukhara Daal)

b. SushiWasabi and Tiffin

c. ItalianCorleone

d. ChineseIndia Jones and Golden Dragon

e. Bengali Masala Kraft

f. Afghani Souk

g. South Indian Orchid

h. ChaatSea Lounge

i. SandwichesTiffin and Trattroria

j. KebabsKebab Korner, Peshawri and Kebab Something

4. What inspires you to be so good in your work?Nisha Jamwval for ifoodee.com

I am a perfectionist and never compromise; I run a race with only myself and I my dreams are my own greatest benchmark.

Through life’s every rapid or pitfall I was only more enthused toward achieving my dreams, and indeed life has in the past presented me with speed breakers, with a roller coaster ride. I don’t lack a touch of narcissism, the love for fame and fortune, but to try and use anyone else for short cuts have not been my idea of achievement. Success has all been through a love of the creative arts and a sense of adventure and imagination.

I work hard and Play hard and it’s the way I enjoy my life -I would hate to be known for the bag I carry or the dress I wore, I dislike the endorsement of designer names emblazoned on my chest, nor do I want any industrialists or well known persons name attached to me socially to piggy back to success. It’s my work and my personality that should carry me into my future.

Nisha Jamwval for ifoodee.comIf I sit on the board of institutions, if I am a judge or a chief guest at Design institutes, if I write columns, it is through sheer determination, drive, education and entrepreneurship. The ability I have always had to dream and most importantly to admire and celebrate the achievements and successes of great people like Roshan Kalapesi, Kamaladevi Chattopadhyay, Arata Isozaki, Stephen Hawking, Raj Kapoor, and Charlie Chaplin.

5. For your home parties, from where do you call takeaways?

Thai Pavillion and Konkan Café as Chef Ananda is one of my favourite chefs in the world.

HotelsCombined.com

Nisha Jamwval for ifoodee.com6. It’s a gloomy day, you want to get charged up, where would you crash and why?

To Oxford bookstore for browsing books, for the coffee, chicken pita roll or to Sea Lounge for Dahi Puri and to see the boats and to read Noddy or my favorite children’s fairy tales.

7. Do you cook? What’s your hot favourite?

I don’t cook often, but I can cook. I cook spaghetti Bolognese get hold of a bit of real Parmesan cheese (I recommend Reggiano) and grate it myself- it tastes a lot better. And of course with a glass of red wine!

8. Top Party places in Mumbai.

China House

Bling

Polly Esther’s

Oba

Nisha Jamwval for ifoodee.com9. Some yummy tips for our foodees out there.

Travel and experiment and adventure without pre conceived ideas and snobbery. I love Europe for food and adventure especially the Mediterranean.

10. Your all time fab foods.

Smoked Salmon
Anything to do with cashewnuts– smoked- salted- with shell
Kaju ki barfi
Cavier with parsley
Sour cream on a wheat melba toast
Grouper fish steamed the way they do it at India Jones
Black eel at Wasabi
Macher Jhol with rice
Salmon ceasers salad at Indigo Restaurant
Well, we thank Nisha for sharing her most yummiest food fundas with us and we promise to hit the places she likes to dine and party and fill our tummys with super delicious food and ultra rocking parties ; )
Till next time, keep updating us with your Food Reviews by Joining our Site.
Happy Eating !

HotelsCombined.com

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Kris says:

    brilliant article

  2. Rahul Narang says:

    HI Nisha, Its nice to read your article. I must say as a person you are very simple & very very classy. I am impressed since i saw u in facebook. Though i am not regular on that.

    Just a bottom line, You look Gr8 with great abilities.

    Take care. Rahul Narang

  3. You are multi-talented! I loved your artistic side the most. Saw your website http://www.nishajamvwal.in/ fell in love with the design. All the best with your new venture. Hope to see more of you on TV.

  4. Jahangir Yar Khan says:

    Dear Nisha,

    You are a winner all the way, very impressive credentials indeed !!

    I am a hotel management professional with 25 years of hard core experience behind me, i am so happy to have traced you and i love to read about you.

    Just this morning i connected with you on the FB. The icing is that you are from the from the same school i went to , I am from the class of 80.

    WOW !! well done !

    All the very best ! you make us proud !!

    God bless !

    JYK

  5. Kris says:

    you reinvent yourself all the time
    a true renaissance woman

  6. K C C says:

    Articulate and elusive as expected, Ms JamVwal never ceases to surprise !

  7. India Pheonix says:

    Scintillating insights !

  8. Vijay Shah says:

    Brilliant insights!
    How multitalented and honest , can actually hear her!

  9. suunil zaveri says:

    brilliant work.creative,charming personalty.great visoin.great personalty someone to look forward as inspiratoin.keep it up.you rocking………….

  10. milind kadam says:

    u r awesome Nisha,, no words to ur talent.. u r just awesome, wow, beautiful n many more..

  11. I have learn a few good stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking for revisiting.

    I wonder how much attempt you put to make this kind
    of fantastic informative web site.

Leave a Reply

